Contact / People

FIBER CONTACT

Florida Institute for Built Environment Resilience (FIBER)
Architecture Building, Room 160
1480 Inner Road
Gainesville, Fla. 32611
Phone: 352.294.3370
email: fiber@dcp.ufl.edu
Web: dcp.ufl.edu/fiber

DCP

Jeffrey Carney

Associate Professor
FIBER Director

Jeff is an architect and urban designer working at the scale of housing and neighborhoods as an interface between urbanism, infrastructure, and ecosystem. 
j.carney@ufl.edu
More info

DCP

Ryan Sharston

Assistant Professor

Ryan is an architect and a civil and environmental engineer focusing on high performance buildings and the health and well-being of occupants. 
r.sharston@ufl.edu
More info

DCP

Jason Von Meding

Associate Professor

Jason is a social scientist investigating narratives of disaster, including injustice and inequality but also solidarity and hope. 
jason.vonmeding@ufl.edu
More info

DCP

Yan Wang

Assistant Professor

Yan is a civil engineer who studies geographical and semantic urban-scale data to track spatiotemporal dynamics of human-spatial systems. 
yanw@ufl.edu
More info

Lisa Platt

Assistant Professor

Lisa is an Engineering Psychologist and Interior Designer using Systems Science to study operations in health and continuing care settings.  lisaplatt@ufl.edu
More info


Jiayang Li

Assistant Professor

Jiayang is a landscape architecture scholar studying public perception and everyday experience of novel design interventions for climate resilience
jiayangli@ufl.edu




Changjie Chen

Assistant Scientist


Changjie is a planner and statistician whose research emphasis is directed at the simulation of future land-use scenarios and transportation modeling by integrating spatial analytics, High-Performance Computing (HPC), and Artificial Intelligence (AI) algorithms.
chj.chen@ufl.edu

carlaBrisotto

Carla Brisotto

Assistant Director, Assistant Scholar

Carla Brisotto is an architect (Italy) and urban theorist. Her research focuses on productive landscapes and climate change asymmetric impacts on population and their environment. She employs participatory design methodologies and placemaking.
c.brisotto@ufl.edu




Christian Calle Figueroa

Urban Designer, Assistant Scholar

callefigueroac@ufl.edu









Sheyla Santana

Post-Doctoral Associate

Sheyla Santana is an urban planner with a background in GIS. Sheyla holds a PhD in Architecture, Urban Planning, and GIS from UFMG. Her research focuses on vulnerability assessment, community-focused planning, citizen science, digital twin, and visioning scenarios to support adaptation to urban spaces.
sheyla.santana@ufl.edu

FIBER Administrative Staff

Olivia Facundo

Research Administrator

Olivia leverages her knowledge of administrative processes and procedures to guide and facilitate FIBER research endeavors.
o.facundo@dcp.ufl.edu

FIBER Students

Zahra Zare, Architecture, zzare@ufl.edu

Guo Ziyi, Urban and Regional Planning, ziyiguo@ufl.edu

Xiyi Hu, Interior Design, huxiyi@ufl.edu

Goshtasb Shahriari-Mehr, Urban and Regional Planning, g.shahriarimehr@ufl.edu

Arezoo Zeinali, Interior Design, arezoo.zeinalika@ufl.edu

Haleh Mehdipour, Construction Management, haleh.mehdipour@ufl.edu

Ana Orosco, Design, Construction, and Planning, ana.orosco@ufl.edu

Ashley Eachus, Architecture, ashleyeachus@ufl.edu

Forough Foroutan, Design, Construction, and Planning, forough.foroutan@ufl.edu

Xiaoyu Chen, Interior Design, xiaoyu51@ufl.edu

Ali “Khashayar” Mahmoudi, Interior Design, alimahmoudi@ufl.edu

Shen Jingyuan, Construction Management, jingyuan.shen@ufl.edu

FIBER Advisory Board

William Craig Fugate

Former FEMA Administrator under
the Obama Administration

craig@craigfugate.com

Ann-Marie knight

Vice president of community engagement at UF Health in Jacksonville

ann-marie.knight@jax.ufl.edu

Janice Barnes

Founder of Climate Adaptation Partners

janice@climateadaptationpartners.com

John Sapora

Housing Resiliency Program Officer,
LISC Jacksonville

jsapora@lisc.org

Gary Cecchine

Director, RAND Gulf States Policy Institute

cecchine@rand.org

Anthony Oliver-Smith

Professor Emeritus of Anthropology, University of Florida

aros@ufl.edu

Gary Hoyt

Principal Hoyt Architects

gary@hoytarchitects.com

Richard Olson

Professor; Center Director of Extreme Events Research Sea Level Solutions Center, Florida International University

Richard.Olson@fiu.edu

Randy Carter

Vice President for Relationship Development, The Center for Health Design

rcarter@healthdesign.org

DCP & UF Affiliates

UF Affiliates

Scroll to Top