FIBER Faculty

Dave Hulse

Professor
FIBER Director

Dave is a landscape architect and environmental designer who uses spatial decision support systems to evaluate alternative land and water use futures.
dhulse@ufl.edu

Jeffrey Carney

Associate Professor
FIBER Associate Director

Jeff is an architect and urban designer working at the scale of housing and neighborhoods as an interface between urbanism, infrastructure, and ecosystem. 
j.carney@ufl.edu

Tim Murtha

Associate Professor

Tim is an anthropologist, landscape archaeologist and design educator that studies the dynamics of settlement and land use.
tmurtha@ufl.edu

Ryan Sharston

Assistant Professor

Ryan is an architect and a civil and environmental engineer focusing on high performance buildings and the health and well-being of occupants. 
r.sharston@ufl.edu

Jason Von Meding

Associate Professor

Jason is a social scientist investigating narratives of disaster, including injustice and inequality but also solidarity and hope. 
jason.vonmeding@ufl.edu

Yan Wang

Assistant Professor

Yan is a civil engineer who studies geographical and semantic urban-scale data to track spatiotemporal dynamics of human-spatial systems. 
yanw@ufl.edu

Lisa Platt

Assistant Professor

Lisa is an Engineering Psychologist and Interior Designer using Systems Science to study operations in health and continuing care settings.  lisaplatt@ufl.edu

Madeline Brown

Postdoctoral Associate

Maddie is an ecological anthropologist whose work focuses on resource governance and landscape-level conservation in both China and North America. 
madelinebrown@dcp.ufl.edu

clearylarkin scaled

Cleary Larkin

Postdoctoral Associate

Cleary is an architect and planner who studies historic land-use decisions as a source of challenges in contemporary built environments and incentive for developing long-term community resilience. clarkin@ufl.edu

carlaBrisotto

Carla Brisotto

Postdoctoral Associate

Carla Brisotto is an architect (Italy) and researcher working on agrarian urbanism and food security. She employs micro-historical methodologies and collaborative design techniques.
c.brisotto@ufl.edu

Whitaker Schroder

Postdoctoral Associate

Whit is an anthropological archaeologist interested in how sociopolitical change is manifested on the landscape, using methodologies including remote sensing and household archaeology with a current regional focus in the Maya lowlands of southern Mesoamerica.
wschroder@latam.ufl.edu

FIBER Administrative Staff

Keila Silva

Research Administrator

Keila leverages her knowledge of administrative processes and procedures to guide and facilitate FIBER research endeavors.
keila.silva@dcp.ufl.edu

FIBER Students

Fang Yao, Urban and Regional Planning, fang.yao@ufl.edu

Haiyan Hao, Urban and Regional Planning, hhao@ufl.edu

Shangde Gao, Urban and Regional Planning, gao.shangde@ufl.edu

Manan Singh, Rinker School of Building Construction, manansingh5@ufl.edu

Hamidreza Esmaeillou, Architecture, h.esmaeillou@ufl.edu

Luwei Wang, Landscape Architecture, weiwei88117@ufl.edu

Nathania Martinez, Landscape Architecture, nathaniamartinez@ufl.edu

Amer Hamad Abukhalaf, Rinker School of Building Construction, amer.abukhalaf@ufl.edu

Collin Bowie, Rinker School of Building Construction, gville1515@ufl.edu

Kristen DeMarco, Architecture, kndemarco17@ufl.edu

Eliza Breder, Architecture, ebreder@ufl.edu

Steven Ramirez, Architecture, rmrz.steven@ufl.edu

Shaher Hmoud, Architecture, shaher.hmoud@ufl.edu

Scroll to Top