FIBER CONTACT

Florida Institute for Built Environment Resilience (FIBER)
606 SE Depot Ave
Gainesville, FL 32601-7085
Phone: 352.294.3370
email: fiber@dcp.ufl.edu
Web: dcp.ufl.edu/fiber

DCP

Dave Hulse

Professor
FIBER Director

Dave is a landscape architect and environmental designer who uses spatial decision support systems to evaluate alternative land and water use futures.
dhulse@ufl.edu

DCP

Jeffrey Carney

Associate Professor
FIBER Associate Director

Jeff is an architect and urban designer working at the scale of housing and neighborhoods as an interface between urbanism, infrastructure, and ecosystem. 
j.carney@ufl.edu

Tim Murtha

Associate Professor

Tim is an anthropologist, landscape archaeologist and design educator that studies the dynamics of settlement and land use.
tmurtha@ufl.edu

DCP

Ryan Sharston

Assistant Professor

Ryan is an architect and a civil and environmental engineer focusing on high performance buildings and the health and well-being of occupants. 
r.sharston@ufl.edu

DCP

Jason Von Meding

Associate Professor

Jason is a social scientist investigating narratives of disaster, including injustice and inequality but also solidarity and hope. 
jason.vonmeding@ufl.edu

DCP

Yan Wang

Assistant Professor

Yan is a civil engineer who studies geographical and semantic urban-scale data to track spatiotemporal dynamics of human-spatial systems. 
yanw@ufl.edu

Lisa Platt

Assistant Professor

Lisa is an Engineering Psychologist and Interior Designer using Systems Science to study operations in health and continuing care settings.  lisaplatt@ufl.edu

Marjorie Prokosch

Postdoctoral Associate

Marjorie is a research psychologist who studies threat perception and decision-making, currently with a focus on disasters and social inequality.

Cleary Larkin

Postdoctoral Associate

Cleary is an architect and planner who studies historic land-use decisions as a source of challenges in contemporary built environments and incentive for developing long-term community resilience. clarkin@ufl.edu

carlaBrisotto

Carla Brisotto

Postdoctoral Associate

Carla Brisotto is an architect (Italy) and researcher working on agrarian urbanism and food security. She employs micro-historical methodologies and collaborative design techniques.
c.brisotto@ufl.edu



Whitaker Schroder

Postdoctoral Associate

Whit is an anthropological archaeologist interested in how sociopolitical change is manifested on the landscape, using methodologies including remote sensing and household archaeology with a current regional focus in the Maya lowlands of southern Mesoamerica.
wschroder@latam.ufl.edu

FIBER Administrative Staff

OA

Keila Silva

Research Administrator

Keila leverages her knowledge of administrative processes and procedures to guide and facilitate FIBER research endeavors.
keila.silva@dcp.ufl.edu

FIBER Students

Fang Yao, Urban and Regional Planning, fang.yao@ufl.edu

Haiyan Hao, Urban and Regional Planning, hhao@ufl.edu

Shangde Gao, Urban and Regional Planning, gao.shangde@ufl.edu

Manan Singh, Building Construction, manansingh5@ufl.edu

Hamidreza Esmaeillou, Architecture, h.esmaeillou@ufl.edu

Luwei Wang, Landscape Architecture, weiwei88117@ufl.edu

Nathania Martinez, Landscape Architecture, nathaniamartinez@ufl.edu

Amer Hamad Abukhalaf, Building Construction, amer.abukhalaf@ufl.edu

Collin Bowie, Building Construction, gville1515@ufl.edu

Eve Bohnett, Landscape Architecture, evebohnett@ufl.edu

Eliza Breder, Landscape Architecture, ebreder@ufl.edu

Emilee Aguerrebere, Urban and Regional Planning, ema113@ufl.edu

Forough Foroutan, Architecture, forough.foroutan@ufl.edu

Xiaoyu Chen, Interior Design, xiaoyu51@ufl.edu

Scroll to Top