FIBER CONTACT

Florida Institute for Built Environment Resilience (FIBER)
The Ayers Building Suite 105
720 SW 2nd Ave
Gainesville, Florida 32601
Phone: 352.294.3370
email: fiber@dcp.ufl.edu
Web: dcp.ufl.edu/fiber

DCP

Dave Hulse

Professor
FIBER Director

Dave is a landscape architect and environmental designer who uses spatial decision support systems to evaluate alternative land and water use futures.
dhulse@ufl.edu
More info

DCP

Jeffrey Carney

Associate Professor
FIBER Associate Director

Jeff is an architect and urban designer working at the scale of housing and neighborhoods as an interface between urbanism, infrastructure, and ecosystem. 
j.carney@ufl.edu
More info

Tim Murtha

Associate Professor

Tim is an anthropologist, landscape archaeologist and design educator that studies the dynamics of settlement and land use.
tmurtha@ufl.edu
More info

DCP

Ryan Sharston

Assistant Professor

Ryan is an architect and a civil and environmental engineer focusing on high performance buildings and the health and well-being of occupants. 
r.sharston@ufl.edu
More info

DCP

Jason Von Meding

Associate Professor

Jason is a social scientist investigating narratives of disaster, including injustice and inequality but also solidarity and hope. 
jason.vonmeding@ufl.edu
More info

DCP

Yan Wang

Assistant Professor

Yan is a civil engineer who studies geographical and semantic urban-scale data to track spatiotemporal dynamics of human-spatial systems. 
yanw@ufl.edu
More info

Lisa Platt

Assistant Professor

Lisa is an Engineering Psychologist and Interior Designer using Systems Science to study operations in health and continuing care settings.  lisaplatt@ufl.edu
More info

Marjorie Prokosch

Postdoctoral Associate

Marjorie is a research psychologist who studies threat perception and decision-making, currently with a focus on disasters and social inequality.
mprokosch@ufl.edu


Changjie Chen

Postdoctoral Associate


Changjie is a planner and statistician whose research emphasis is directed at the simulation of future land-use scenarios and transportation modeling by integrating spatial analytics, High-Performance Computing (HPC), and Artificial Intelligence (AI) algorithms.
chj.chen@ufl.edu

carlaBrisotto

Carla Brisotto

Postdoctoral Associate

Carla Brisotto is an architect (Italy) and researcher working on agrarian urbanism and food security. She employs micro-historical methodologies and collaborative design techniques.
c.brisotto@ufl.edu




Whitaker Schroder

Postdoctoral Associate

Whit is an anthropological archaeologist interested in how sociopolitical change is manifested on the landscape, using methodologies including remote sensing and household archaeology with a current regional focus in the Maya lowlands of southern Mesoamerica.
wschroder@latam.ufl.edu

FIBER Administrative Staff

OA

Keila Silva

Research Administrator

Keila leverages her knowledge of administrative processes and procedures to guide and facilitate FIBER research endeavors.
keila.silva@dcp.ufl.edu

FIBER Students

Fang Yao, Urban and Regional Planning, fang.yao@ufl.edu

Haiyan Hao, Urban and Regional Planning, hhao@ufl.edu

Shangde Gao, Urban and Regional Planning, gao.shangde@ufl.edu

Manan Singh, Construction Management, manansingh5@ufl.edu

Guo Ziyi, Urban and Regional Planning, ziyiguo@ufl.edu

Luwei Wang, Landscape Architecture, weiwei88117@ufl.edu

Goshtasb Shahriari-Mehr, Urban and Regional Planning, g.shahriarimehr@ufl.edu

Arezoo Zeinali, Interior Design, arezoo.zeinalika@ufl.edu

Haleh Mehdipour, Construction Management, haleh.mehdipour@ufl.edu

Amer Hamad Abukhalaf, Construction Management, amer.abukhalaf@ufl.edu

Collin Bowie, Construction Management, gville1515@ufl.edu

Isabella Guttuso, Landscape Architecture, isabellaguttuso@ufl.edu

Eliza Breder, Landscape Architecture, ebreder@ufl.edu

Emilee Aguerrebere, Urban and Regional Planning, ema113@ufl.edu

Forough Foroutan, Architecture, forough.foroutan@ufl.edu

Xiaoyu Chen, Interior Design, xiaoyu51@ufl.edu

Ali “Khashayar” Mahmoudi, Interior Design, alimahmoudi@ufl.edu

Shen Jingyuan, Construction Management, jingyuan.shen@ufl.edu

Suzanne Tielemans, Architecture, stielemans@ufl.edu

FIBER Advisory Board

William Craig Fugate

Former FEMA Administrator under
the Obama Administration

Janice Barnes

Founder of Climate Adaptation Partners

Joshua New

Program Director Oak Ridge Nat’l Lab

Gary Cecchine

Director, RAND Gulf States Policy Institute

Anthony Oliver-Smith

Professor Emeritus of Anthropology, University of Florida

Brad Pollitt

Vice President Facilities, UF Health

Robert R. Twilley

Executive Director of Louisiana Sea Grant College Program and Professor of Oceanography and Coastal
Sciences at Louisiana State University

Scroll to Top