Florida Institute for Built Environment Resilience


FIBER Faculty

Core FIBER faculty bring experience, skillsets, track records and most of all a desire to help synergize knowledge, at the intersection of research and lived experience around the concept and practice of resilience.

Dave Hulse, Professor
FIBER Director

Dave is a landscape architect and environmental designer who uses spatial decision support systems to evaluate alternative land and water use futures dhulse@ufl.edu

Jeffrey Carney, Associate Professor
FIBER Associate Director

Jeff is an architect and urban designer working at the scale of housing and neighborhoods as an interface between urbanism, infrastructure, and ecosystem. j.carney@ufl.edu

Tim Murtha
Associate Professor

Tim is an anthropologist, landscape archaeologist and design educator that studies the dynamics of settlement and land use.
tmurtha@ufl.edu

Ryan Sharstonbr
Assistant Professor

Ryan is an architect and a civil and environmental engineer focusing on high performance buildings and the health and well-being of occupants. r.sharston@ufl.edu

Jason von Meding
Associate Professor

Jason is a social scientist investigating narratives of disaster, including injustice and inequality but also solidarity and hope. jason.vonmeding@ufl.edu

Yan Wang
Assistant Professor

Yan is a civil engineer who studies geographical and semantic urban-scale data to track spatiotemporal dynamics of human-spatial systems. yanw@ufl.edu

Madeline Brown
Postdoctoral Associate

Maddie is an ecological anthropologist whose work focuses on resource governance and landscape-level conservation in both China and North America. madelinebrown@dcp.ufl.edu

Cleary Larkin
Postdoctoral Associate

Cleary is an architect and planner who studies historic land-use decisions as a source of challenges in contemporary built environments and incentive for developing long-term community resilience. clarkin@ufl.edu

Carla Brisotto
Postdoctoral Associate

Carla is a Postdoctoral scholar working in FIBER. c.brisotto@ufl.edu

Whitaker Schroeder
Postdoctoral Associate

Whit is a Postdoctoral scholar working in FIBER. wschroder@latam.ufl.edu

FIBER Administrative Staff

Keila Silva
Research Administrator

Keila leverages her knowledge of administrative processes and procedures to guide and facilitate FIBER research endeavors.
keila.silva@dcp.ufl.edu

FIBER Students

Fang Yao, Urban and Regional Planning, fang.yao@ufl.edu
Haiyan Hao, Urban and Regional Planning, hhao@ufl.edu
Shangde Gao, Urban and Regional Planning, gao.shangde@ufl.edu
Manan Singh, Rinker School of Building Construction, manansingh5@ufl.edu
Hamidreza Esmaeillou, Architecture, h.esmaeillou@ufl.edu
Luwei Wang, Landscape Architecture, weiwei88117@ufl.edu
Nathania Martinez, Landscape Architecture, nathaniamartinez@ufl.edu
Eve Bohnett, Landscape Architecture, evebohnett@ufl.edu
Amer Hamad Abukhalaf, Rinker School of Building Construction, amer.abukhalaf@ufl.edu
Collin Bowie, Rinker School of Building Construction, gville1515@ufl.edu
Kristen DeMarco, Architecture, kndemarco17@ufl.edu
Eliza Breder, Architecture, ebreder@ufl.edu
Steven Ramirez, Architecture, rmrz.steven@ufl.edu
Shaher Hmoud, Architecture, shaher.hmoud@ufl.edu