UF College of Design, Construction & Planning

College of Design Construction and Planning News

UNESCO World Field Laboratory: making strides against rising tides through design

May 2, 2016

Different cultures, multiple languages, one goal. That was the objective of a two-week long, international collaborative workshop organized that developed concepts for the urban and cultural adaption to sea level rise, an escalating issue along Florida’s coasts and other parts of the world. The focus on Florida is component toward a world view across the … Read More

School of Architecture: Teaching Gallery

Gainesville enjoys the presence of one of the largest and best architecture schools in the country. The students are renowned for their outstanding work ethic, and exhibited here is evidence of what they offer. The work on the wall is speculative, integrative, inventive, visionary and sustainable. The four-year undergraduate architecture degree at UF, provides an … Read More

DCP doctoral student receives national recognition for research

April 26, 2016

Elizabeth Calienes, DCP doctoral student, received national recognition for outstanding research using a innovative multi-methods design in her study entitled “What Elements of the Retail Store Environment Keep the Millennial Shopper Engaged?” This research was presented at the 2016 Interior Design Educators Council (IDEC) conference in Portland, Oregon. During a refereed poster session, Elizabeth presented research insights, based on a large image bank of annotated retail … Read More

Anumba announced as DCP Dean

April 11, 2016

UF ADMINISTRATIVE MEMO FROM: Joseph Glover, Provost and Senior Vice President SUBJECT: College of Design, Construction & Planning Dean I am pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Chimay Anumba as Dean of the College of Design, Construction and Planning effective August 1, 2016. Dr. Anumba received his Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from the University of Leeds … Read More

Gator Grand Slam: three LAE students win state-level competition

March 25, 2016

For the fourth consecutive year, landscape architecture students from the UF College of Design, Construction and Planning have won top state awards in the Florida Association of Native Nurseries (FANN): “Real Landscapes Design Competition,” for the use of Florida native plants. Only this year, the students swept all three categories in the competition! The annual … Read More

Master plan for the City of Pangkalpinang

March 14, 2016

Landscape architecture students traveled to Indonesia in the beginning of March, where they met with city officials and collaborated with students from the Institute of Technology in Bandung (ITB), working on a master plan for the City of Pangkalpinang. “We focused on flood prevention, education awareness and ecological recovery on our project,” said Dan Zhu, who is a URP postdoctoral … Read More

25 DCP alumni named as Gator100

February 26, 2016

Congratulations to the 25 DCP alumni that made the second annual Gator100, the list of the top 100 fastest-growing, Gator-owned or Gator-led businesses in the world. This year, the College of Design, Construction and Planning was third among all UF colleges in the number of alumni on the list. The Gator100, which recognizes and celebrates … Read More

UNESCO World Field Laboratory: Sea Level Rise and the Future of Coastal Urban Settlements

February 23, 2016

UNESCO WORLD FIELD LABORATORY Miami 2016 Sea Level Rise and the Future of Coastal Settlements February 28-March 12th 2016 The UNESCO Chair in Sustainable Urban Quality and Urban Culture (UNESCO Chair) with the Consortium for Hydro-generated Urbanism (CHU) University of Florida are co-organizing a two week international workshop examining specific problems of sea level rise … Read More

Edward D. Stone, Jr. Lecture Series

February 22, 2016

In remembrance of Edward D. Stone, Jr., the Department of Landscape Architecture held its annual lecture last Thursday. The event began with a plaque unveiling, commemorating Stone and featuring the donors who made the endowed lecture series possible. Afterwards, the 2016 featured speaker Laurie Olin presented his lecture at the Harn Museum.

BCN Spring Career Fair

February 17, 2016

Last Tuesday, the Rinker School of Construction Management held its Spring 2016 Career Fair in the O’Connell Center.

1 2 3 5