SBE Faculty

Teaching Faculty

For more information on specific courses, please visit the UF undergraduate catalog, graduate catalog, course search, or the SBE program details.

Bahar

Bahar Armaghani

Director & Instructional Assistant Professor
Sustainability & the Built Environment

352.294.1428 | ARCH 446

Courses taught include:

  • ARC 6913 Greening New Construction (Summer)
  • DCP 3210 Sustainable Solutions for the Built Environment (Fall)
  • DCP 4214 Green Building Strategies / LEED Lab (Fall)
  • DCP 4215 Sustainability Leadership (Spring)

Crystal Goodison

Associate Director & Associate Scholar
GeoPlan Center

352.392.2351 | ARCH 131A

Courses taught include:

  • DCP 1010 Geodesign Colloquium (Fall)

Azza Kamal

Instructional Assistant Professor
Sustainability & the Built Environment

352.294.1425 | ARCH 132

Courses taught include:

  • DCP 2001 Introduction to GIS I (Fall)
  • DCP 2002 Introduction to GIS II (Spring)
  • DCP 3210 Sustainable Solutions for the Built Environment (Fall)
  • DCP 4215 Leadership in Sustainability (Spring)
  • DCP 4930 Economics of SBE (Fall & Spring)

Hal S. Knowles, III

Instructional Assistant Professor
Sustainability & the Built Environment

352.294.6871 | ARCH 150

Courses taught include:

  • DCP 1241 Introduction to Spatial Thinking (Spring)
  • DCP 3200 Methods of Inquiry (Fall)
  • DCP 3210 Sustainable Solutions for the Built Environment (Spring & Summer)
  • DCP 3220 Social & Cultural SBE (Fall, Spring, & Summer)
  • DCP 4930 Community Resilience (Fall)
  • DCP 4941 Interdisciplinary Practicum (Past)
  • DCP 4945 Geodesign Practicum (Past)
  • EVR 2001 Introduction to Environmental Science (Past)

Emeritus Faculty

Peggy Carr

Professor Emeritus | 1989-2018
Department of Landscape Architecture

Founding Member & Director | 2008-2018
Sustainability & the Built Environment

Research interests include:

  • Regional conservation strategies
  • Greenway/corridor design
  • Land use planning at the urban interface
  • Land use planning and reserve design
  • Ecotourism
  • Recreational carrying capacity
  • Environmental policy

Affiliate Faculty

Faculty from across the College of Design, Construction and Planning (DC) are involved with varying aspects of sustainability and the built environment in their teaching, research, and/or service. Listed below are some of DCP’s most prominent contributors to our shared SBE mission.

DCP | Architecture

Vandana Baweja
Associate Professor
vbaweja@ufl.edu

Ryan Sharston
Assistant Professor
r.sharston@ufl.edu

DCP | M.E. Rinker, Sr. School of Construction Management 

Abdol Chini
Associate Dean & Professor
chini@ufl.edu

R. Raymond Issa
Distinguished Professor
raymond-issa@ufl.edu

Robert J. Ries
Associate Professor
rries@ufl.edu

Ravi Srinivasan
Associate Professor
sravi@ufl.edu

DCP | GeoPlan Center

Crystal Goodison
Associate Director & Associate Scholar
goody@geoplan.ufl.edu

Kate Norris
Geospatial Data Manager & Assistant Scholar
katen@geoplan.ufl.edu

DCP | Historic Preservation

Morris Hylton III
Program Director & Associate Scholar
mhylton@ufl.edu

DCP | Interior Design

DCP | Landscape Architecture

Dan Manley
Interim Director & Lecturer
dpmanley@ufl.edu

DCP | Urban and Regional Planning

Scroll to Top