UF College of Design, Construction & Planning

Doctoral Research Faculty

Doctoral Research Faculty are faculty members in the College of Design, Construction and Planning that are eligible to chair Ph.D. committees. If you have any questions about eligibility requirements or this list, please contact Dr. Zhong-Ren Peng at zpeng@dcp.ufl.edu or Pat De Jong at patricde@dcp.ufl.edu

Sherry Ahrentzen
Shimberg Research Professor
Office: 315 RNK
Contact: 352-273-1229 / ahrentzen@dcp.ufl.edu

Abhinav Alakshendra, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Director of the Center for International Design and Planning
Office: ARCH 448
Contact: (352) 294-1488 / alakshendra@ufl.edu

Chimay Anumba, Ph.D., D.Sc.
Dean and Professor
Office: ARCH 331
Contact: anumba@ufl.edu

Vandana Baweja, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 242 ARCH
Contact: 352-294-1465 / vbaweja@ufl.edu

Sheila Bosch, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: ARCH 348
Contact: 352-294-1439 / sheilabosch@dcp.ufl.edu

Ilir Bejleri, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 454 ARCH
Contact: (352) 294-1489 / ilir@ufl.edu

Margaret H. “Peggy” Carr
Professor, Director of the Program for Sustainability and the Build Environment
Office: 331D ARCH
Contact: 352-294-1406 / mcarr@ufl.edu

Abdol Chini, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 306 RNK
Contact: (352) 273-1165 / chini@ufl.edu

Aaron Costin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 344 RNK
Contact: 352-273-2121 / aaron.costin@ufl.edu

Erin Cunningham, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: ARCH 344
Contact: 352-294-1433 / ekc@ufl.edu

Ian Flood
Holland Professor, Coordinator PhD Program
Office: 319 RNK
Contact: (352) 273-1159 / flood@ufl.edu

Kathryn Frank, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 452 ARCH
Contact: (352) 392-0997 / kifrank@ufl.edu

Bryan Franz, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 309 RNK
Contact: 352-273-1161

Masoud Gheisari, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 322 RNK
Contact: 352-273-1166

Martin Gold
CityLab-Sarasota Program Director
Office: 231 ARCH
Contact: 352-294-1474 / mgold@ufl.edu

Charlie Hailey, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 452 ARCH
Contact: 352-294-1471 / clhailey@ufl.edu

Thomas Hoctor, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor and Director of the Center for Landscape Conservation Planning
Office: 436 ARCH
Contact: 352-294-1443 / tomh@geoplan.ufl.edu

Raymond Issa, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 325 RNK
Contact: (352) 273-1152 / Raymond-issa@ufl.edu

Charles Kibert, Ph.D.
Professor                                                                                                   
Office: 342 RNK
Contact: (352) 273-1189 / ckibert@ufl.edu

Kristin Larsen, Ph.D., AICP
Associate Professor and Director of the School of Landscape Architecture and Planning
Office: 431A ARCH
Contact: (352) 294-1482 / klarsen@ufl.edu

Rui Liu, Ph.D.  NEW ENTRY
Assistant Professor
Office: 321 RNK
Contact: 352-273-1168 / liurui@ufl.edu

Joseli Macedo, Ph.D., AICP
Associate Professor and and Chair
Office: 458 ARCH
Contact: (352) 294-1490 / joseli@ufl.edu

Janet Matthews, Ph.D.
Associate Scholar, HP & Director, Academics and Research, UF Historic St. Augustine, Inc.
(UFHSA)

Office: P.O. Box 11571
Contact: 352-294-1423 / jsmatthews@ufl.edu

R. Edward Minchin, Jr., Ph.D.
Professor
Office: RNK 315
Contact: 352-273-1153 / minch@ufl.edu

Larry Muszynski, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 326 RNK
Contact: (352) 273-1160 / larrym@ufl.edu

Nawari Nawari
Assistant Dean and Associate Professor
Office: 246 ARCH
Contact: 352-294-1467 / nnawari@ufl.edu

Paul Oppenheim, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 307 RNK
Contact: (352) 273-1157 / pauloppenheim@ufl.edu

Nam-Kyu Park, Ph.D., NCIDQ® Certificate No. 024603, LEED A. P.
Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator
Office: 354 ARCH
Contact: 352-294-1437 / npark@ufl.edu

Zhong-Ren Peng, Ph.D.
Professor and Director of the DCP Ph.D. Program
Office: 462 ARCH
Contact: (352) 294-1491 / zpeng@ufl.edu

Margaret Portillo, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Professor, and Chair
Office: 336 ARCH
Contact: (352) 264-1430 / mportill@ufl.edu

Robert J. Ries, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: RNK 311
Contact: 352.273.1155 / rries@ufl.edu

Richard Schneider, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Contact: rschnei@ufl.edu

Ajay Shanker, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 331 RNK
Contact: 352-273-1162 / shanker@ufl.edu

Gary W. Siebein
Professor Emeritus
Office: 234 ARCH
Contact: 352-294-1452 / gsiebein@siebeinacoustic.com

Christopher Silver, Ph.D., FAICP
Professor
Office: 331 ARCH
Contact: 352-294-1405 / silver2@dcp.ufl.edu

Ravi Srinivasan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 321 Rinker
Contact: 273-1164 / sravi@ufl.edu

Ruth L. Steiner, Ph.D., MBA
Professor; Director: Center for Health and the Built Environment
Office: 464 ARCH
Contact: (352) 294-1492 / rsteiner@dcp.ufl.edu

Kevin Thompson
Associate Professor, Graduate Coordinator
Office: 460 ARCH
Contact: 352-392-6098 ext. 329 / gday@ufl.edu

William L. Tilson
Professor Emeritus
Office: 362 ARCH
Contact: 352-294-1419 / wtropic@ufl.edu

Shabboo Valipoor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: ARCH 350
Contact: 352-294-1451 / sh.valipoor@ufl.edu

Sara Katherine “Kay” Williams, FASLA
Associate Professor Emeritus
Office: 456 ARCH
Contact: (352) 392-6098 ext. 326 / willsk@ufl.edu

Hui Zou, Ph.D., Dr. of Engi.
Associate Professor, Graduate Coordinator
Office: 252 ARCH
Contact: 352-294-1470 / hzou@ufl.edu

Paul D. Zwick, Ph.D.
Professor, Director of the GeoPlan Center
Office: 331 ARCH
Contact: (352) 294-1483 / pdzwick@ufl.edu