Program in Sustainability and the Built Environment

People

Faculty Working in Sustainability

Architecture

Vandana Baweja, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Areas of Expertise: Global Histories of Sustainable Architecture and Urbanism; Colonial Architecture and Urbanism; Modern South Asia
e-mail: vbaweja@ufl.edu

Nancy Clark
Associate Professor
e-mail: nmclark@ufl.edu

Donna Cohen
Associate Professor
Office: 254 ARCH
e-mail: dcohen@ufl.edu

Martin Gold
Associate Professor
e-mail: mgold@ufl.edu

Martha Kohen
Professor
e-mail: mkohen@ufl.edu

Michael Kuenstle
Associate Professor. NCARB Representative.
e-mail: kuenstle@ufl.edu

Bradley Walters
Associate Professor. AIA
Areas of Expertise: Sustainability
e-mail: Bradley.walters@ufl.edu

Construction Management 

Sherry Ahrentzen
Shimberg Research Professor 
Areas of Expertise: Healthy Indoor Environments and Energy Conservation
email: ahrentzen@dcp.ufl.edu

Charles J. Kibert, Ph.D.
Professor
Areas of Expertise: Sustainable Construction, Deconstruction, Green Buildings, Green Building Assessment, Operations Research Applied to Sustainable Construction Problems, Ethics of Sustainability
e-mail: ckibert@ufl.edu

Robert J. Ries, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Director
Areas of Expertise: Sustainability. Sustainable Construction.
e-mail: rries@ufl.edu

Ravi Srinivasan
Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: low/net zero energy buildings, building simulation and energy modeling, sustainability/high performance strategies, and carbon emissions assessment and control
E-mail: ravi.s.srinivasan@gmail.com

Interior Design

Nam-Kyu Park, Ph.D., LEED AP
Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: Lighting and space planning
e-mail: npark@ufl.edu

Shabboo Valipoor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
e-mail: sh.valipoor@ufl.edu

Landscape Architecture

Margaret H. Carr
Professor and Director of Program in Sustainability and the Built Environment
Areas of Expertise: Land Use, Environmental Policye-mail: mcarr@ufl.edu

Tom Hoctor, Ph.D.
Associate Research Professor and Director of the Center for Landscape Conservation Planning Areas of Expertise: Landscape Conservation, Landscape Ecology, Ecological Corridors, GIS
e-mail: tomh@geoplan.ufl.edu

Dan Manley
Lecturer
e-mail: dpmanley@ufl.edu

Kevin Thompson
Associate Professor Registered Landscape Architect Western Australia
Areas of Expertise: Cultural Heritage and Community Participation
e-mail: gday@ufl.edu

Michael Volk
Assistant Research Professor and Registered Landscape Architect, Florida
Areas of Expertise: Landscape Conservation, Land Use Planning, GIS
email: mikevolk@ufl.edu

Sustainability and the Built Environment

Bahar Armaghani
Lecturer
Areas of Expertise: LEED and other sustainable performance metrics
email: barmagh@ufl.edu

Urban and Regional Planning

Kathryn Frank, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Areas of Expertise: Environmental Planning, Ecosystem and Watershed Management, Collaborative Planning, Adaptive Governance, Civic Engagement, Systems Theory
e-mail: kifrank@ufl.edu

Crystal Goodison
Associate Scholar and Associate Director, Geoplan Center
e-mail: goody@geoplan.ufl.edu

Christopher Silver, Ph.D., FAICP
Professor
Areas of Expertise: International Sustainable Development
email: silver2@dcp.ufl.edu

Ruth Steiner, Ph.D.
Position: Professor and Director of Center for Health and the Built Environment
Areas of Expertise: Transportation Planning, Health and the Built Environment
e-mail: rsteiner@ufl.edu

Paul Zwick, Ph.D.
Position: Professor, Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Programs
Areas of Expertise: Land Use Modeling and GIS
e-mail: pdzwick@ufl.edu
Office: 431 ARCH